Discuss Circuit Design - HMO refurb in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

LukeL81

DIY
Reaction score
Hi

Pretty new here, so not sure if this question goes into this thread

I am not an electrician; however, I plan to integrate IOT devices and smart energy meters into the electricals of a house of multiple occupancies.

The house will have six bedrooms, 2 on the ground floor and 4 on the first floor.

There will be three bathrooms on the ground floor, two en-suite and one shared

There will be two more bathrooms on the first floor, one en-suite and one shared

The ground floor will also have the kitchen/living area with all the usual appliances(2 x washing machines, 2 x electric cookers, 2 x fridges, 2 x extractors)

The idea is to install 1 circuit in the CU for each room, as the total energy consumption for each room will need to be calculated by being connected to a Smart 4-channel DIN rail relay switch that will save the data remotely for further calculation.

Also, the appliance circuits will need to be connected to the Smart 4-channel DIN rail relay switch for energy consumption.

The Smart 4-channel DIN rail relay switch has
  • Over Power/Current Protection
  • Over Voltage Protection
So I assume we will still need an RCBO to ensure short circuits protection.

Here is what I am planning to use

Based on some investigation, I think that the RCBO would be the best in terms of future proof and scalability(independently of cost); however, based on the number of potential individual circuits(at least 15 in my calculations), should this be split into 2 CUs(ground and first floor) to make sure there is enough space to install all the RCBO, SPD, etc. and the Smart relay switch(need 5 of them and each of them is the equivalent of 2 RCBOs in horizontal size).