Discuss City and Guilds 2356, NVQ Level 3....... COMING TO AN END!!! *A MUST READ* in the Electrician Courses : Electrical Quals area at ElectriciansForums.net

R

Rthor1981

Fellow Sparks!

I have worked in the industry since i left school (12 years ago) off my own back i completed night school for 3 years at my local college doing the City and Guilds 2360 part 1 and 2 (7 years ago) i have also got both my 2382-10 17th edition and City and Guilds 2391. recently after i applied for the JIB gold card i discovered that i am only graded (by them) as an electrical improver/Trainee! They Informed me that to complete my qualifications and be graded as an electrician i must undertake City and Guilds 2356, NVQ Level 3!?

My first question is does anyone know anyway round this? I have sent 2 seperate references from previous employers stating that i have actually ran Jobs and yet JIB still wont grade me any differently!

My local college runs this at a price of £1800 but will need to do various assesments and actually come and visit me on site!! This will not go down well amongst site foremen and electricians underneath me, that i am having to have trainers out to asses my work!!

SECONDLY! And this is the BIG one! Having spoke to City and Guilds Directly they have informed me that the C&G 2356 is actually changing to the C&G 2357! and if i have not registered for my 2356 by July 2012 all my previous City and Guilds qualifications will no longer be recognised!!!!!!!!!!! I can see there is going to be alot of very very unhappy people come August!!

If anyone has got any info whatsoever regards this please HELP! I certainly dont want to be starting from scratch regards my qualifications for this so i am actually looking to get this sorted asap in the quickest time possible!