Discuss Confused about domestic work in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

S

sparrrrk

Hi all,

I'm a newbie so please go easy on me. I am just a little confused at what domestic work I am allowed to do. Without going into a whole novel I will just jump right in.

I am a fully qualified approved electrician working for a company. I also have 2391 testing and inspection.

I have just been asked to wire a family members shower circuit. I would like to do it as its a straight forward job (apart from the cable run grrr) however even though I am approved and I have testing, I do not have part p. Also I am only covered by NIC when I am working for my company.

Am I allowed to do the job?

I'm sorry if this has been answered before.

As it's a new circuit and in a special location it's notifiable. You either have to be part of a competent person scheme, get building control involved (normally an extortionate cost) or have it tested/notified by a third party who is part of a competent person scheme that allows third party certification.

Or.......as it's a family member just go ahead and do the job, test it as you normally would and fill in domestic installation certificate that you can print of the net. As long as you are competent to do so which I don't doubt from your quals.:icon7:

Last edited:
agree with lee and bigdav. just do it, test and certify. time these bloodsucking scams were closed down. they do nothing for the trade and even less for consumer safety.

The P is to prevent cowboys working on electrical installs within homes, or so we are told.
It doesn't and your not one anyway.
Just get the job sorted, after all the cable was installed within the period just after the colors changed, and before part P came into force.
You just changed the shower on a like for like basis and issued a minor works. Didn't you !!