Discuss costing exercise in the Solar PV Forum | Solar Panels Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Scrag

-
Reaction score
Hi Guys. New to the forum so be gentle. Been looking at threads for last week and am impressed with feedback, so before I start, thankyou for that. I am currently a disgruntled electrician based in the SW competing against everyone else and am fed up with it and therefore have decided to go down the pv route. Did c&g coarse 2 years ago but have just applied for MCS. Had a couple of installs to do for assessment but they have let me down. Therefore I have to fork out and stick one on mine. Costs are increasing.. My question is although broad and hyperthetical. How much does a 2,3 or 4KW cost to install on an average 3 bed semi. ie, scaffolding, roofing (if using a roofer) structual engineers report, etc etc.. Got to work to some sort of figures and am looking forward to feedback.
From my local wholesaler I am looking at approx ÂŁ2100 per KW in kit form using Shucho & SMA stuff.
I reckon for two guys we are looking at 3 days for first complete install and gradually reducing this.
Not sure about the paperwork (MCS), surveying, calcs etc etc. Hence the Post and anything else I have unforseen or not included. Got to justify spending to the accountant..... Or should I say Wife and kidz. Using the figures above I cannot see much profit unless we can get the materials significantly cheaper.Thanks in advance

for scaffolding - contact a couple of local scaffolding companies and ask them for quotes

Structural engineers report - you may be better talking to an independant building inspector so that they can check the structure and also complete the building control for you - as you will need this at least until you fall under the banner of the MCS. - but then again, depends if you are happy with your knowledge on all of the other parts of building control.