Discuss Does a 32amp distribution circuit wired in SWA to a sub board need RCD protection ? in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Reaction score
For context i am in my 2nd year in college and my head is going round in circles a question in my project for which i need to select the right protective devices for :
A 32A distribution circuit from the main board to supply summerhouse will have a four-way SP-N distribution board fitted supplied by a 3-core thermoplastic SWA cable clipped direct. In the main board all the other circuits are on RCBOs.
I'm pretty sure I can't have a RCBO feeding another RCBO because of discrimination , and I think because the supply is wired in SWA that the distribution circuit doesn't need RCD protection .If I am correct in thinking this could someone give me the reason to why the circuit being wired in SWA means no rcd protection is needed
What I have done for this question is a 32A MCB in the main board for this distribution circuit feeding the summerhouse board and in the summerhouse I have put RCBOs in that four-way board- Is this correct ?
I also had another thought that I could do a 32A RCBO in the main board for this distribution circuit feeding the summerhouse board and then have just MCBs in the 4 way - board
I am quite confused about this and have been looking through section 5 of the regs but the words and the way the regs describe things don't make things crystal clear to me

You have the right idea.
The basic thinking is
"Do I need an RCD for fault protection"
"Do I need an RCD due to the circuit's use (e.g. 411.3.3 411.3.4, or any of the section 7 special location rules"
"Do I need an RCD due to the wiring system and how the cable is run"

The last one is the one of interest here - and the journey goes:
Section 5 - selection and erection of equipment
Section 52 - " " wiring systems
Section 522 - " " in relation to external influences
finally arriving at section 522.6 Impact