Discuss Electrical incomer too old? in the DIY Electrical Advice area at ElectriciansForums.net

toasterman

-
DIY
Reaction score
Hi,
Apologies if I'm breaking a million rules by posting (and registering here) as I'm not an electrician, but I had a question about the safety/age of something electrical.

I have just recently bought a house, and the survey flagged up possible electrical issues. We had a local electrician survey the safety of it, and he said the wiring was ok as far as he could tell, but the consumer unit needed replacing. This was replaced by the sellers before we moved in, and retested by our same electrician, as ok.
We've since had some electrical work done (by a different electrician as the first was too busy), and when installing an outside light, a boxed-in hollow section of thin wood (like a cupboard but not openable) had to be taken down from an area next to the front door, to get the cables through.
Upon taking it down, the electrician told us that there was this thing behind it where the electricity comes into the property, that should not be covered so permanently, as we/the electricity company/someone else may need access to it in the future. Is this called an "incomer" or a "cut-out"?

After taking down the rest of the covering, I was attempting to find some sort of removable box/covering to go over it, when I wondered how old it is. A look on these forums and at a few things on google images now has me concerned it might be very old and possibly need replacing.
This wouldn't/couldn't have been tested in our survey or electrical test, as it was inaccessible due to the permanent cover surrounding it.
I've taken some photos of it. "Henley ISCO series 3", I think it says on it.

Pic 1: https://www.dropbox.com/s/cutjxg1xglnahr7/incomer1.jpg?dl=0
Pic 2: https://www.dropbox.com/s/1w69oegyhfgin09/incomer2.jpg?dl=0
Closeup1: https://www.dropbox.com/s/pqfe7oj2bhy1d8g/incomer3.jpg?dl=0