Discuss Electrical wages. in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Reaction score
Hi Everyone.

Over the last few years the rates of pay for Electricians has dropped or stayed the same as we all know. Over the last few days at his really started to grind me down with the state of the industry. Mainly due to the agencies ripping working men and women off. Doing some research and I cannot find a single article or campaign to get things back to how they should be. It looks like everyone has given up and doesn't give a ---- about their futures. Being a sub contractor myself and having no working rights I just think enough is enough but not sure where to start or how to get the ball rolling. There must be thousands of genuine Electricians and a lot on this forum who feel the same.

Last edited:
Only every 'old' electrician I've ever spoken to.
This is what the unions reckon they're for, and the union supporters will tell you they do things behind closed doors to make things better for us, but so far I have seen little evidence of this.

It's not just sparks, it's everywhere. With the sparks, it's supply and demand. Too many sparks for too few jobs, the price goes down.

Agencies aren't ripping people off, they are all in competition with each other making £1-2 an hour off each operative.

You won't get any ball rolling, nor will anyone else. That's the way it is now and I can't see it improving.

Want to earn more money? Find another career.

Sorry mate.

It's not just sparks, it's everywhere. With the sparks, it's supply and demand. Too many sparks for too few jobs, the price goes down.

Agencies aren't ripping people off, they are all in competition with each other making £1-2 an hour off each operative.

You won't get any ball rolling, nor will anyone else. That's the way it is now and I can't see it improving.

Sorry mate.