Discuss From Domestic to Commercial?? in the Business Related area at ElectriciansForums.net

N

NoTrip

Hi all!! I'm going to keep this simple. I'm an newly qualified electrician with 17th edition, NVQ 3, Advanced apprenticeship, AM2, JIB Gold card, 2391 inspection & testing.

90% of my experience over the past 3 years has been working on domestic houses, installing, maintaing, upgrading and testing existing electrical systems. So carrying out domestic work is not a problem for me. However I want to take part in larger commercial projects to increase my experience in the trade.

So my question to you guys out the is, what is the best way to enter the commercial side of work when most vacancies want you to have commercial experience??

I don't mind going on as an electricians mate or improver. ATM gaining the commercial experience is what's most important to me.

Thanks in advance for any advice given...

Work as a mate, its a different ball game to domestic, and you should gain knowledge reasonably quickly.
It still amazes me that all the quals dont produce a well rounded sparks like they used to.

Unfortunatly its agency work, unless you can find a reputable company to take you as a mate.
If you go through one of the parasites they will send you as a spark, but dont let the weasels pay you mates rate.

Thanks for ur reply. Yeh I'm going to try and join a few agencies as a mate. I just need to gain more experience working within a commercial setting. And eventually apply for electrician positions.

You don't need to sign on with the agencies as a Mate, they may not even allow you to do so, or if they do you may get stuck on Mates rates for ever.
You have a JIB gold card which grades you as an Electrician, that's what you are and that's what you should be paid as.
All the big companies are slashing the hours and rates, so you don't really want to be doing it for them.