Discuss Grade A ld2 system in self contained flats in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Rhian_o

DIY
Reaction score
Hi there,

I am the freeholder of my flat. There are 2 other flats. In the building, it’s a converted terrace house.

The council have instructed me to install a grade a ld2 system. I have no idea what this means. Can anyone explain what the requirements are to appease the council?

I’m a teacher and don’t earn much money. I’m very worried about being able to carry out the works.

Many thanks

You own the whole building or are you a leaseholder of your flat or do you share part of the freehold.

Last edited:

Grade D2 Fire Alarm Systems (BS5839-6)​

As specified by BS5839-6, a Grade D2 system comprises of one or more mains-powered detectors, each with an integral standby power supply

As specified by BS5839-6, a Grade D2 system comprises of one or more mains-powered detectors, each with an integral standby power supply consisting of a user-replaceable battery or batteries. All of the below devices are suitable for use as part of a BS5839-6 Grade D2 fire alarm system.

In what way have the Council issued a notice of sorts, asked, instructed you to install an LD2 system.?
Have the Council also asked the other 2 flats or have they already got such a system?
Has this request been made to you as part Freeholder or as Leaseholder or occupier?

I suspect this has been classed as an HMO, a Grade A LD2 system is essentially a 'proper' fire alarm for want of a better word incorporating a control panel, automatic detection and manual call points. How have the council become involved.

Grade D2 Fire Alarm Systems (BS5839-6)​

As specified by BS5839-6, a Grade D2 system comprises of one or more mains-powered detectors, each with an integral standby power supply
The system required is grade a (eg fire system with a pannel)

You are referring to grade d (mains interlinked eg aicos or sutch )

It is important not to confuse theese