Discuss How to start? I'm new to the industry. in the The Welcome Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Reaction score
Hi, I thought I'd introduce myself. My name is Ian and I am 38 years old, I have a 2 year old daughter and wife. We all like in a flat in Yeovil, Somerset.

I have just been made redundant from my work as a dual fuel meter fitter, previously I had no experience in electricals. I have however grown a respect for the electrical industry and would like to retrain in order to gain future proof qualifications that help me provide for my family.

I am here to ask what the best route forward will be for me. I'm not in the best position to retain due to family commitments and the plans we have for the future.

To be blunt and honest, we want a second child and to move into a house, of course these are both fairly procluded if I need to spend alot of time training and studying. So please feel free, if you think that retaining isn't a likely possiblity in my situation, tell me.

In order to break even on my existing financial situation I need to be earning £24,000 a year. I understand that Apprenticeships don't pay this much so need to either find one that does or find another route.

I have found an interesting company called Access Training who are offering a Professional Course that seems to provide a basic package of Core Qualifications that I am ensured can get me an apprenticeship that pays £25,000 and up within a year if I can complete the course. (Professional Electrician Course | Access Training Academies - https://www.accesstraininguk.co.uk/electrical-courses/professional-electrical-course)

Does anyone have experience with this? My understanding is that with these basic courses under my belt I could then take an apprenticeship, at a higher wage due to my experience in smart meter fitting and achieve the necessary NVQ through that.

Is this right?

Any other possible suggestions?