Discuss How to test a ceiling lights with a plug socket in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Reaction score
Hi guys

Please don't kill me. I am not an electrician and this is possibly the very simplest of questions you will read today.

I got a custom light fitting created for me and I wanted to test it without having to get it installed on the ceiling first. There are a few bulb options and I wanted to see which bulb would look best on there which is why I wanted to test it.

I took the wires and put them into a UK plug, and put it into the socket. It doesn't work. Can someone please guide me on how I can test this? Is there anything additional I need to do with the wires for it to work with a plug socket?

Thanks

Hi guys

Please don't kill me. I am not an electrician and this is possibly the very simplest of questions you will read today.

I got a custom light fitting created for me and I wanted to test it without having to get it installed on the ceiling first. There are a few bulb options and I wanted to see which bulb would look best on there which is why I wanted to test it.

I took the wires and put them into a UK plug, and put it into the socket. It doesn't work. Can someone please guide me on how I can test this? Is there anything additional I need to do with the wires for it to work with a plug socket?

Thanks
Fuse blown? a picture might throw some light on the problem, sorry for the pun.

best use a BS1363 plug.
shopping

not a
s-l225.jpg

Have you tried the bulb in a different light to make sure it works?

Yes I have a number of bulbs and a number of these lights. I have tested a couple of lights with different bulbs, but its not working.

I suspect I am not doing it correctly. Do we need something additional in the circuit for the light to work? Like those lamp switches for eg?

Eg:

Light fitting with g9 bulb --- > Lamp switch ---> UK Plug ---> Plug socket

Currently, I have: