• IMPORTANT: Please note that nobody on this forum should be seeking from or providing advice to those who are not competent and / or trained and qualified in their field (local laws permitting). There is a discussion thread on this global industry-wide matter HERE. This also has more information about the warning with regards to sharing electrical advice in some countries. By using this forum you do so in agreement to this.

Discuss Is there such a thing as a "DIY electrical job"? in the The Welcome Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Welcome to ElectriciansForums.net - The American Electrical Advice Forum
Head straight to the main forums to chat by click here:   American Electrical Advice Forum

Reaction score
Hi......I'm not an electrician but have worked as an "electrician's mate" for a NICEIC registered contractor for a couple of years after I retired. I've been a member of this forum for a few months and enjoy reading the posts, hoping to pick up some tips.

In the description of the site it says "DIY and Auto Electricians Talk and share advice" and although for the most part your members are happy to help there seems to me to be a more than a few who blind the "OP" with technical terms that only a qualified electrician would understand -I think their mindset is "if you don't understand what Ze is or have a MFT you shouldn't undertake this job" Also, several responses say quite curtly "get an electrician in" and I understand that in many cases that is the correct advice.

Obviously I'm not belittling in any way the need for"competence" when working on electrical installations but is it the case that there is no such thing as a DIY electrical job?

I think most forum users agree that there is no real need for the DIY forum. It is there to bring in traffic to the forum.
There are certain small jobs I would expect a diyer to perform, but none would extend to the alteration of any fixed wiring.