Discuss Just completed HNC, looking for something more specialized (West Midlands based) in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

T

Timbits

Hi guys,

After a bit of advice really! I am a time served spark based in the Warwickshire area and I am wanting to specialize in either automation/control or try to get into HV/commissioning and associated work.

I have 6 years post apprenticeship experience and have spent the last 3 offshore in both construction and maintenance. I work a 21/21 day on/off rota so have plenty of spare time to dedicate to this, and have just completed a HNC on block release, with a view to doing a HND next term.

Ideally, I'm looking for anyone within reasonable commute of the Leamington/Warwick/Coventry area that I could voluntarily shadow/assist to gain an understanding and more in depth experience in these fields on my time off.

I appreciate it’s a niche side of the industry and would assume that most guys probably started out doing this in their apprenticeships, however, I'm motivated, well up for the challenge and always reliable.

If anyone has any pointers or has gone down a similar route as I wish to, I'd be more than happy to receive any advice. In addition to this, if there are any other sectors/specializations you would also recommend then I'd also be interested in hearing about these.

Apologies for banging on a bit!

Many thanks in advance, Steve

Last edited by a moderator:
Hi dude,congratulations on your course completion. I reckon you could increase the advice given,by adding a couple of details,such as what specifically,your work currently involves.

Also,the reasons for wanting the change,is it the interest or the money,you are following? No shame in stating either.