Discuss Key switch for emergency lights in the Commercial Electrical Advice area at ElectriciansForums.net

Reaction score
Hi, I’m a bit new to this and I understand how to wire thru a grid key switch for emergency lighting but could someone please explain or show a small drawing how to wire with a key switch so when the key switch is toggled, the lights stay in and only turns off the emergency lights please

Just break the permanent or emergency feed through the key switch. The switch feed to the rest of the lights should be totally separate.
Anyone ever seen this done properly.. emg lights only controlled by key switch & not looped of in circuit with other ordinary lights

The way I seen them done is CTU and multipole n/c contactor in the DB

Each lighting MCB you take a feed through a pole for emergencies

Ctu breaks the poles

Interesting...
I am no expert on this, but in a recent installation of maintained units, a separate permanent live was installed, without key-switches. Thus, when doing monthly testing we just trip the breaker for the lights and check that the ones with emergency modules stay lit...which they do. We don't check for them staying on for 3 hours, but an hour is fine, as the building is small and can be evacuated in under 2 minutes via 3 exits. Probably not "best practice" but for a small building it works fine.

Interesting...
I am no expert on this, but in a recent installation of maintained units, a separate permanent live was installed, without key-switches. Thus, when doing monthly testing we just trip the breaker for the lights and check that the ones with emergency modules stay lit...which they do. We don't check for them staying on for 3 hours, but an hour is fine, as the building is small and can be evacuated in under 2 minutes via 3 exits. Probably not "best practice" but for a small building it works fine.
I don't get that?