Discuss MEGGER Bm223 - how to use it? in the Electrical Tools and Products area at ElectriciansForums.net

Reaction score
Hey guys

As some of you know I'm studying at college and invested in a MEGGER Bm223 just to practice at home.

I have a spare 2.5 cable at home to practice on.

Does anyone know how to use this device ? Continuity and resistance test ?

Back from the pub now....

Link to the manual:

Can I stress that this instrument is for dead tests so don't go near any live circuits with it!
Either practise on a completely disconnected cable, or turn the main switch off first and check what you are intended to connect to is dead using the safe isolation procedure.
I'd also suggest not exceeding 250v IR tests until you've learned more about them.

Look on YouTube for John Ward. You want the videos on continuity testing and insulation resistance testing.
That device is gloriously simple there are only two wires.
To null the leads for continuity join them together and press test.

Oh brilliant !, that's what I need at this stage. To learn the theory and why do we do things.

I'll watch his vids! Do you recommend anymore ??

Back from the pub now....

Link to the manual:

Can I stress that this instrument is for dead tests so don't go near any live circuits with it!
Either practise on a completely disconnected cable, or turn the main switch off first and check what you are intended to connect to is dead using the safe isolation procedure.
I'd also suggest not exceeding 250v IR tests until you've learned more about them.

Oh brilliant thanks for that!.

I'm only testing on a loose cable.so I understand the basics.

The manual is what I need !!! But sadly that PDF isn't working for me.

Does it work for anyone else ???

Oh brilliant !, that's what I need at this stage. To learn the theory and why do we do things.

I'll watch his vids! Do you recommend anymore ??
His playlist on testing is excellent and I'd watch the whole playlist including the introduction.