Discuss Minor cert help in the Periodic Inspection Reporting & Certification area at ElectriciansForums.net

M

Mike Blair

Im new to inspection and testing. Sorry if i sound lost. Basicly came to a job an electrician has done. Hes installed sockets in the bedroom and sockets in the new extention coming of the same circuit Would i note this on 1 minor works as bedroom/extention sockets and use the highest zs from one of the rooms

Also where it says ads. There is no rcd in place would i give this a N/A or a cross

As above A minor works is for alterations you have carried out not someone else , but if you had of done the works I would suggest A minor works for each alteration

Its just that you will be putting your name to the installation not just the testing , if you can see how the cabling has been installed and are happy with the installation then its your call , but if for example when the new cable was installed its rapped around a heating pipe under the floor that coursing a problem in the future then as your name is on the cert you will be accountable for it.

Hes just left the job past week with out giving the minor. Would that effect the cert?

I wouldn't put my name to anyone else's work, but that's just me. Like flanders says, unless you can do a 100% inspection on every inch of cable, every connection etc, I'd walk away.

The fact that this guy has left the job having altered sockets circuits with no RCD protection and no testing or certs should tell you all you need to know about the standards of install. Tell the customer that they need to get the installer back to finish.

It's not a case of would you should you. The only person that can issue a mwc for the work is the person who carried it out.
All you can do is carry out a pir and issue an eicr.

Sent from my SM-T710 using Tapatalk

Hes just left the job past week with out giving the minor. Would that effect the cert?