Discuss New but old needing advice in the The Welcome Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Dipa

-
Reaction score
Hey guys great forum some good reads on here, my issue is Ive been in the trade since i left school done a full apprenticeship and passed also done my Part c at the time.

Ive been subbing for the last 20 years for a few firms around the country and travelling up and down the UK which is now not my cup of tea as its just awful getting anywhere these days and quote tiring but now I've been offered a job locally direct with a local firm and van provided but about 15hours less than my standard week.

The thing is I've not worked direct for anyone for many years and was wondering if any one could advise me the pros and cons of this arrangement and how much tax ni is deducted from a wage etc.

Id say 80%of the year i was subbing on a flat day rate with the occasional bit of price work thrown in.

Thanks for reading .

I'm on PAYE, with tax, NI and pension it works out around 25-30% off takes.

you get about £11k/year before tax, then 20% tax on rest of wage. not sure about NI. don't forget you can claim workwear and tools against tax.

nd don' tforget, if your wife/girlfriend is not in work, you can pay her /him ( got to be politically inept here ) up to the tax/NI threshold a s a receptionist/tele answerer/secretary and claim it back.

Reply to New but old needing advice in the The Welcome Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Similar Threads

Hello all, First of all I apologise if this is in the wrong forum, I figured the general forum may be the best bet :) Thank you for taking...
Replies
Views
Hi, need some advice, I moved over from Sse in 2020 to Octpus energy. Whilst I was with SSE I was on E10 when I went over to octopus they put me...
Replies
Views
Hi all. Have an issue i'd love some advice on if anyone would be so kind. Will try to be brief. Thank you!! So, have an intermittent RCD trip at...
Replies
Views