Discuss New satellite meter problems in the Australia area at ElectriciansForums.net

O

owillingham

Hi, this is the first time i've posted on here but could do with a little advice. I appologise in advance as its a long post, but I want to give the full story so you can all understand my problem and how I have come to have it.

I'm a self employed electrician and am often asked to re-align satellite dishes whilst i'm up a ladder working on floodlights etc, granted its not that often but its happened a few times. I got given an old satellite reciever a few years ago and brought a new dish off ebay, used the signal test function of the reciever to align the dish. When i moved house I took the setup with me and brought a very cheap signal finder (little needle that fluctuates as signal gets stronger), I then later replaced the lnb with a quad lnb and used the same meter. Each time i've done i've had good results, all the free channels but often the music channels like the vault, chart show and some kids channels like tiny pop would be very pixelated, the main channels like bbc would be fine even in bad weather conditions. I've lived with the system like this for a long time because i dont generaly watch the music channels and my kids watch cbeebies and cbbc which dont seem to get affected. I recently brought a far more advanced signal meter off ebay, so that if I get asked again to align a dish I had a tool that would do it far more easily and professionaly, as i dont have a perfect signal at home I thought i'd try it out....