Posting a message to the forum will remove the above advertisement
  1. angel While you're here, would you mind checking out our Electrician's Insurance section to see if we could save you a few quid? - Specifically our Van Insurance Deals and Public Liability Insurance Deals. Thanks for supporting the forum! angel

5% Discount from Electrical2Go.co.uk for ALL members! - Click Here

Old cable

Discussion in 'Electrical Forum' started by WDFY, Feb 19, 2012.

Discuss Old cable in the Electrical Forum area at ElectrciansForums.co.uk.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Please make sure you checkout our forum sponsors, many do discounts for members and, they keep the forum free to use.
  1. WDFY

WDFY Guest

Hi

Just been to quote for fitting a new bathroom and noticed there is an old 2.5mm shower cable where the shower was, what is the safest way to terminate the wire?

I'm not an electrician so not sure can I legally remove the wire, is there an acceptable means of isolating it (junction box??)

Thanks

CG

2. D80

D80 Guest

Safest way would be to call in a spark:p

Do you know if the cable is live? Disconnecting it and removing it from service would be the safest way. Is there a pullcord or switch for the shower?

3. WDFY

WDFY Guest

There was a pull core on the ceiling, I tested it and its not live even when the switch is pulled, looks like the fuse was removed

4. nikmet

nikmet Electrician's Arms

This job will be done safely and properly within an hour i would guess,so wont cost a lot, don'
    t mess around with bathroom electrics, get a qualified professional in to ensure its left 100% safe.

5. Hiddo

Hiddo Guest

In theory yes you can terminate it in a junction box but I think you need to get a professional opinion. 2.5mm cable should not be used near a shower and if it has been the cable will need inspecting and testing to ensure it is safe to be left connected to the consumer unit.

6. WDFY

WDFY Guest