Discuss Part L - MH11 LEDs in the Electrical Wiring, Theories and Regulations area at ElectriciansForums.net

M

MarkW82

I'm not an electrician but work in an electricians office and have been tasked with finding out the following.

We are currently installing MH11 fittings in a new house but need to retrofit them with LED bulbs. In most rooms these fittings are the sole or main source of light.

Are there any Part L compliance issues to consider. Do the bulbs need to have at least 400 lumen (I can't find any LEDs for this fitting with 400 Lumen). Or could we fit any LED bulbs if they are under 5 watts.

Thanks

your reference should be to lumens per circuit watt. think that's in part L.

The building regs are different on this side of the pond but I'd say you have your answer in post #2. It will Lumen per circuit watt, and pretty much anything LED will comply.

I can't say I've ever come across an MH11 lamp though? It wouldn't be the little downlight fittings (which would be MR11's)?

Bulbs grow in the garden Lamps!
Why would bulbs grow in there?

From working for myself for several years in domestic and light commercial is you have to speak to the customer in lingo they can understand, and understand back from them...
So... bulb = lamp
lamp = something that plugs into a socket, normally near a bed or in corner of a room
spotlight = downlight
spotlight = floodlight, generally external
spotlight = spotlight
Lead Light = LED Lamp (or bulb)
Neon Light = Fluorescent Batten Light
Trip = RCD
Trip = MCB
Nip round whenever you have a spare minute = get here within 48 hours
It'll only take you 10 mins = Allow at least 3 hours
I didn't touch anything = Lies
Nothing was on or happening when it tripped = Lies

I'm not an electrician but work in an electricians office and have been tasked with finding out the following.