Discuss Part P electrician certifying non-part P electrician question (groan...) in the Electrical Wiring, Theories and Regulations area at ElectriciansForums.net

M

marshr02

Okay. I'm a Chartered Electrical Engineer in the day job, who is rewiring his house as part of a wider major house refurb. Have also passed 2381, 2391 C&G exams. I have a Building Control Application that includes the electrical work. I want to have as little to do with the LABC as possible. As I'm doing the design, and installation clearly I will be supplying an EIC for the work, with test results.

I suspect the LABC testing to check my work is basically getting their electricians to complete a PIR. In which case can I not supply that myself, by employing a part P electrician to complete a PIR. The certification still takes place via my building control application. Just I get more control by organising the PIR myself? Any thoughts folks? I could ask the LABC these questions but they seem so unsure I wanted to take control. Cheers

Thanks guys. Really looking for people's experience's - not a definitive answer. Has anyone done a PIR report on work done by non-part P electrician for the purposes of satisfying LABC? Cheers

Until April this year getting an self certification scheme registered electrician to inspect your work is not permitted (but does happen), I doubt if the LABC would be happy if you told them this.
The best bet is for you to tell the LABC that you are a competent electrician and will supply the EIC for the installation and hope they do not charge you anything, it is up to them what they will consider suitable.
Since the work is covered by the planning application you might hope that they would accept you doing the inspect and test.
(and PIRs are now EICRs)