Discuss Power floating concrete in the Electricians Chat - Off Topic Chat area at ElectriciansForums.net

M

monkeyelectric

Evening all, nothing to do with electrics but i'll ask anyway :D has anyone on here ever used a power float on a concrete slab? I've got the task of building some new dog kennels at my girlfriends mums place, i've set the formwork/shuttering out and i've got no problem in laying the concrete but i've never used a power float before and she wants the surface a smooth as me on the dancefloor:D I know its all about the timing and i really don't want to cock it up!

Evening all, nothing to do with electrics but i'll ask anyway :D has anyone on here ever used a power float on a concrete slab? I've got the task of building some new dog kennels at my girlfriends mums place, i've set the formwork/shuttering out and i've got no problem in laying the concrete but i've never used a power float before and she wants the surface a smooth as me on the dancefloor:D I know its all about the timing and i really don't want to cock it up!

power floating - YouTube
try this,we had a lot done at a place i worked at

it all depends on how much stone is in the concrete, when they did ours they sprinkled grano dust on top before floating.
I was talking about that fool in your video :D i've got an rc40 mix, lafarge think its ok to be power floated so i'll just have to give it a go and see what happens, whats the worst that can happen :)

You still need a bit of strength behind you to shift the float neatly, but it did come out smooth when I did it and it is much quicker than sitting there with a bit of scaffold board!
I did have one bit where the other person was not strong enough to pull it and it got a bit rough.

You still need a bit of strength behind you to shift the float neatly, but it did come out smooth when I did it and it is much quicker than sitting there with a bit of scaffold board!