Discuss Quinetic switch question. in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Reaction score
Hi everyone :) my first post here. Quick background I'm a newly qualified installer of somewhat advanced years whose just starting out in the trade.

The reason I'm posting is because I've been having a puzzling issue with Quinetic light switches, I can't seem to get any sense from Quinetic technical support so I hoped I might get some here. The issue is this, six weeks ago I did some work re-wiring a client's lighting circuit and also installed a Quinetic in-line switch receiver, replacing a traditional 1-way 1-gang switch. Everything functioned as expected and the circuit test results were good, minor works cert, job done.

Last week I got a call from the client complaining of strobing from the bulb, and when he changed bulbs, the new bulb briefly powered on even though the switch was off. I went round and did some testing. I connected my MFT to the pendant with an adaptor and got a reading of 238v regardless of whether the switch was open or closed. I plugged the bulb back in and tested around the pendant with my volt stick, which indicated voltage present when the light was off.

I got in contact with Quinetic who told me it must be a faulty unit. I got a replacement this week and tried it on my own lights. Same result. I consulted the regs and came across regulation 537.3.1.3 which mentions a semiconductor device may control current without disconnecting the poles so I put my clamp meter around the switch line and operated the switch, sure enough 0A with the switch open and 30mA with the switch closed. I was still worried about the voltage reading from the outlet though and a new communication from the manufacturer read "no, the voltage is switched" which wasn't terribly helpful.