Discuss RCBO failure in an unbalanced split phase installation in the Electrical Wiring, Theories and Regulations area at ElectriciansForums.net

O

Ohmer Simpson

Hello all, this is my first post on any forum so please forgive any ineptitudes. I'm a relatively recently qualified electrician and have encountered a single phase /split phase 3 wire installation for the first time. This installation is fed through a three phase board containing mccb's, however prior to this the red and yellow phases are taken from the same buzz bar. Obviously one would think loading would be considered when making the transition from split phase to distribution of two lines upon a 3-phase board. However this is not so. On all 12 boards a measured voltage of 15v is apparent and the same is true of all outlets, clearly the neutral is carrying significant current. Which brings me to my question I've just been testing a board full of RCBO's. When measuring earth loop impedance on a no trip setting (using a megger mft 1730) not only are the RCBO's tripping they are mechanically failing, burning out and smoking. Obviously I'm putting this down to the imbalance in the system but can't understand the science that explains why, could anybody please explain this for me

Last edited by a moderator:
Take a N to E voltage readings.
I’m sorry but your description of the fault is hard to follow. I’m going for a faulty neutral connection, not necessarily in your installation but possibly the supply company.

Take a N to E voltage readings.
I’m sorry but your description of the fault is hard to follow. I’m going for a faulty neutral connection, not necessarily in your installation but possibly the supply company.

I'm glad someone else couldn't make any sense of this discription. I read it several times and was more confused each time i read it. ..lol!!

Hello all, this is my first post on any forum so please forgive any ineptitudes.