Discuss self employed trial period in the Business Related area at ElectriciansForums.net

S

seamus1979

So have been on the cards for twelve years.
Got made redundant just before Christmas after a row with my boss after I took a day off when my son got taken to hospital.

Anyway
Ring around for a start and go for an interview. The boss says I will be on a three month trial period self employed and then I will be taken on the cards. This is my first time being self employed. Its 160 a day which is only twenty quid a day more than what I was on when on the cards.
So I have my own cheap little van that I use when I do my own little privates. I have been on the firm six weeks working as a subby using my own van and its been all fairly local jobs which has been sweet. Slowly but surely the distances have been getting bigger and now I'm being asked to do two minor jobs on Friday which are fifty miles apart and the first one is forty miles from home. This is all new territory for me but with what its gonna cost me in wear and tear and fuel in my van it's a **** deal. My little van is fourteen years old so i dont have much confidence in doing big distances with it. I've been told after the trial period I will be taken on the cards and given a van.
Any advice would be great. Am I having the **** taken out of me?

If I was you I would be looking at the bigger picture rather than worrying about clocking up a few extra miles.

as above^^^^^. as long as there's some local work to take the sting out. maybe you could politely ask if there was a chance of fuel allowance for the more distant jobs.

I guess its a new environment for me. I've had twelve years of light industrial installation work, so six months on one job then six months on the next one. I ain't ever really done jobbing.I guess the decider is what happens at the end of the trial period.

As above really.

The 2 wee jobs are keeping you going for the day.