• IMPORTANT: Please note that nobody on this forum should be seeking from or providing advice to those who are not competent and / or trained and qualified in their field (local laws permitting). There is a discussion thread on this global industry-wide matter HERE. This also has more information about the warning with regards to sharing electrical advice in some countries. By using this forum you do so in agreement to this.

Discuss Sonoff wifi switches with no earth pass-through, are they safe? in the The Welcome Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Welcome to ElectriciansForums.net - The American Electrical Advice Forum
Head straight to the main forums to chat by click here:   American Electrical Advice Forum

Reaction score
Hi all,

I'm new here and want to say thank you in anticipation for the advice you can give me -- I hope it's okay to dive on to this forum as a total newbie with a question rather than just an introduction, but I'd really appreciate some insights!

I bought a Sonoff wifi switch for about £8 from Amazon; I've fitted it to a modern table lamp, and it works very well. I'm thinking of buying some more, but I have several lamps which are made from old ceramic vases with a brass bayonet bulb holder at the top, all of which have 3 core cables to their plugs.

The Sonoff switch only has L and N connectors, no earth connector, and I can't see a neat way of connecting the earth from the lamp to the plug without using terminal blocks inside their own protective box or some other such Heath-Robinson setup.

My house has those circuit breakers in the consumer unit (RCDs?) but I don't know if they are a sufficient protection if I fitted these lamps with Sonoff switches and ignored the earth.

My gut feeling tells me that ignoring any safety device is done at one's peril but these switches are really convenient and easy to use so I'm hoping the answer will be positive!

Thanks in advance,
Jodi.

Hi Jodi and Welcome to the Forum!