Discuss Spa shock issue and competence to install in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

T

TrevorM

Hi all

I have an issue with a spa installation we had a few months ago.
Just as a bit of background info, I am a TV engineer and run a TV engineers forum, I have also completed many of my own electrical installations at home before things got a tricky without the relevant qualifications etc.

The install consisted of splitting the tails, installing a new metal clad fuse box with appropriate fuse and RCD and running the larger of the applicable sizes of armoured cable around the house to a 32a rotary isolator, then there is a length of armoured cable into the spa.
This was completed by a qualified electrician prior to the spa arriving.

The was fitted and has been OK.

Last night I decided to check the chemicals in the spa before getting in, this is highly unusual for me, checks are usually performed earlier.
I was barefoot on an outside block paved patio, I dipped the test meter in the water and got a good tingle through a few days old cut in one finger.

Put a non injured finger in and you feel nothing, put my shoes on and put the cut finger in and you feel nothing.

I have read through any posts referencing spa shocks on this forum but the solution isn't entirely clear to me. As I recall the armoured cable was three core and I can't remember what the electrician said or did about the earth conductor and the armoured outer, are they joined together????

Anyway, I have contacted the spa installer and they are coming out tomorrow.
I asked the following question, which probably didn't go down well.

Can you tell me what qualifications your installer has please?

The answer was "years of experience, knows hot tubs inside out etc etc" & "was approved as competent by the NICEIC"