Discuss Sub mains rooms. in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Reaction score
Hello,
Been doing some work today in a high rise where there are sub mains cupboards on each floor however the communal fuse boards and all main connections for flats (before meter, meter and fb in flats) has previously been relocated to 1 sub mains room off of an old unused office on the ground floor to prevent vandalism. (not the nicest area in the world to work, we where working there because they had stolen an earth conductor).

Anyway:

Was told by people I was working with that as an apprentice I legally can not be in the sub mains room.
Sound weird as how can you learn to work on the sub mains if this is the case.
is this correct?

Thanks

Was told by people I was working with that as an apprentice I legally can not be in the sub mains room.
is this correct?

This is crap. There is no legalities around you being in any location. What the Electricity at Work regs say, is that you must be competent, as you are an Apprentice, i will take worst case scenario and assume that you are not, but you are in there with a skilled person and working under his/her supervision and instruction, so you are now an instructed person. look up the definition of skilled and instructed persons in BS7671 part 2, and you will see where i am coming from, and why you can be in there.

Cheers.............Howard

Can't see how or why it is a problem aslong as you're supervised by someone competent. Was never a problem when i was an apprentice, like you say - how do you learn otherwise...they always say the best experience is the experience.

However, with Health and Safety these days it wouldn't suprise me if they have made it illegal.

as both above sensible replies ^^^ ^^^.