Discuss Why does connecting neutral to casing work? in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

fredsilva

DIY
Reaction score
I have basic experience installing switches, dimmers, outlets in my home; I am not an electrician.

My brother recently had a light that was not working and asked me to take a look. I have a basic question about this:

When I connected the hot wire and neutral to the light fixture wiring: the light does not work. But if I touch neutral coming from lamp fixture to metal casing the light works.

Why does this happen, I thought it should be a closed circuit.

I checked for power on the switch and it was receiving 120v.

Checking the circuit from the hot and neutral wires in the light casing, it registers very low voltage, which tells me the neutral is not circulating appropriately.

My question though is, why does the metal casing keep the light on?

Thanks for your help

Probably yes, using the ground as a return path.

But using a ground for power return is a VERY BAD IDEA as if there is an open ground fault then any attached metalwork is then live and dangerous.

That sort of arrangement (combined neutral & ground/earth) is known as TN-C and here in the UK is prohibited from use within installations. It is allowed within the power supplier's system but they have multiple earthing arrangements and separate N & E when it comes in to the property. Even then it is the cause of a few accidents every year due to open fault on the combined N &E.

Probably yes, using the ground as a return path.

But using a ground for power return is a VERY BAD IDEA as if there is an open ground fault then any attached metalwork is then live and dangerous.