Discuss Working out of hours in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

C

connerm36

Hi there, im new to site! Finished my apprenticeship last year, with my dads company, a subby has just recently left and its just me and him(we dont get on great but get the jobs done) He doesnt do anything but work, even at home, home is the office... As he is the boss, he has to do the paperwork, certificates etc even if it requires out of hours work, its his choice, his company. Now the question im asking, he has just got another licsence for the Cert program and wants me to start doing certificates and paper work to go with it at home(i dont live with him) after working hours, i feel as if he expecting me to do what he does, when ive only really just finished my appreticeship. I feel he is trying to pass me some of his load...is this the norm? I dont really know any other young electricians like me so i cant ask them. iIf anyone sees this in a different light say something, i need to know as ive been sheltered really, hes always in control and has never let me do anything my own way, always his way..., all i know is my dad company, i , is it different in bigger companies? Any help would be grateful :)

That’s a weird one, it seems like family business to me, and there is nothing we can advice you, if you and your father doing well in earning the decent living, I would say, just do what you told. When you have your own company, you work 24/7 until you can afford to back out and let the others do the work, seems It is your turn now, and most probably you end up owning this business in future.

I think the main question here is:
Do you like to be an electrician yourself, and one day own your own company???

Last edited: