Discuss 2 questions in 1 (alarm): Cable routing from outside into loft and mounting sounder in the Security Alarms, Door Entry and CCTV (Public) area at ElectriciansForums.net

Mr.Si

-
Reaction score
I am hereby admitting inexperience with 2 things:

1. Getting a cable (screened alarm cable) into loft space - I was looking at it yesterday and was thinking about sending it into the loft via the underside of the uPVC Bargeboard but don't know the soffit structure behind this and if this is advisable or if there is a better way.

2. How best to mount an external sounder on to a tiled wall (the top half of this 1970's mid terrace house is ceramic tile). Is it normally that behind the tiles is timber?

The house is generally a cavity wall construction, at least, it is downstairs!

This is stuff I would have asked if I was an apprentice or mate or improver, but no one is taking on people down in Sussex at the moment.

Any of your learned time-served advice would be much appreciated.

Thank you.

Si :)

Re: 2 questions in 1 (alarm): Cable routing from outside into loft and mounting sound

Not sure on no 1 without having a look.
Similar answer to no 2, lift a couple of tiles and have a look, sometimes it is block work the has been battened and tiled which would be fine to drill into the tile and fit the alarm. If it is boarded with felt, then battened and tiled, I think you would be better off trying to fit it to a proper tile bracket so you do not impair any waterproofing and get blamed for damp at a later date.

Can you have a look at one of the neighbours houses if they are of a similar construction?

Re: 2 questions in 1 (alarm): Cable routing from outside into loft and mounting sound

is the cable you need to get into the loft for the sounder you need to mount? if so drill a small hole in the soffit and then fit the sounder to the soffit with self tappping screws, 2 birds with one stone so to speak.