Discuss Advice on becoming an electrician ?? in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

W

Will2813

Currently I am studying in sixth form. For several reasons, mainly that I am not enjoying my time here and I find the fact that an exam at the end of year determines how "good" I am at the subject. I don't have the aspiration to go to uni due to no particular interest that I can dedicate my self to, also the fact I would be in debt at the end of it all. I have been thinking of dropping sixth form as I have just completed my first year, and going onto a city and guilds 2365 Electrical instillation course. The college that offers this also offers things like the 17th edition wiring and other necessary side qualifications, they could also enrol me onto an apprenticeship which I would try to seek the best one I could. There is another course which is electro technology, what is the difference between the two?
My results at Gcse were quite good and my A level results are suspected to be okay too all but physics. I was wondering if this would be a good route into becoming an electrician and if so/not how would I go about being successful? What would be the best possible entry into this job. Is this the best trade to do and how is the overall feel of being an electrician? including the money side. Advice would be very much appreciated due to the college enrolment dates are quite soon, would an apprenticeship be better so I earning whilst learning?
Many thanks