Discuss BTEC ND Electrical/Electronic Engineering Route. in the Electrical Engineering Chat area at ElectriciansForums.net

A

alamb

Hi Folks,

Was looking if some knowledgeable people could give me a little bit of information.

I am a young student, who has always been interested in electrics. I am in my last year of a BTEC ND Electrical/Electronic Engineering, and I am likely to be accepted into university to do a degree as my results are well above average.

Does anyone know if I can use these qualifications to qualify as an Electrician (Domestic Installation and Maintenance sort of stuff has always been my interest). What other qualifications and certificates must I hold?

I enjoy doing to odd jobs around the house and for neighbours and stuff. Was looking for an apprenticeship or starts as an electricians mate, but to be honest, there isn’t much positions up for grabs, especially with trades jobs going the way they're going.

Any information would be good.
Adden

HNC/D will be no help whatsoever for a domestic installer. It will be of benefit if you work in maintenance engineering (I had to take my ONC as part of my apprenticeship) but only because you are likely to cover a much wider range of equipment - I for example maintain, repair and install generators, UPS systems, air con, SCADA and distance protection relays and their associated equipment. I doubt you'd get on to an apprenticeship with HNC/D or a degree though as you'll be over qualified. You would possibly get a job as a trainee though.

To be a "qualified" electrician you want the 17th edition, 2391 and I would consider some kind of domestic installers course to show you the things you might need when installing electrical equipment. I have these too and they help more on the electrician side of my job than they do the electrical engineering side.

Thanks James,