Discuss Can anyone advise, feel a little silly and ignorant today in the Solar PV Forum | Solar Panels Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

J

JL_Electrical

Here is my situation, I'm 26 years old and been self-employed for four years. I'm an NICEIC approved contractor. Upon my renewal in March this year I asked my area engineer if it was a wise move for me to go and do the PV course. His reply was if I had £1000 to invest in the business, there were better ways of doing it than PV. I never gave it much thought and carried on as normal. One of my customers is a large plumbing and heating contractor who do masses of housing association heating installs and servicing. They employ two electricians but use my company when they are busy, which is fairly reguarly. One of their electricians had a quiet word in my ear that it would be well worth my while to take the PV course as they were going into renewables in a big way, this coupled with rumours coming from another customer of mine (a large building contractor) who have supposedly won a large PV contract with another buidling contractor (even though they are not MCS accredited or don't to date have any of their operatives PV qualified) I started seriously thinking about the course. I then spoke with a small private building firm that I do rewires, the odd new build etc for, mainly for high end properties and developers. He told me that customers keep asking him about it and that he'd be interested in doing the roofing side etc. Following all this, I booked and paid in full for my C&G course on Nov 14th. Then this afternoon whilst merrily working away, thinking how rich I'm going to become, I hear the changes to the feed in tarriff and the effects it will have on the industry.