Discuss Can I change a pressure pad from Normally Closed to Normally Open? in the DIY Electrical Advice area at ElectriciansForums.net

Reaction score
I have a lovely electric power reclining sofa, and a lovely cute dog that sometimes sits underneath it. We are worried that one day we will recline the sofa and squash the dog! So I want pressure pads on the floor that will kill the power to the chair when activated. I have bought a cheap pressure mat to look at, and it has a "normally open" switch, so it could only turn the power on, not off.
I cannot find a similar mat with a "normally open" default.
Is there some kind of emergency stop switcher I can put between the two, or is there somewhere I can buy a "normally open" pressure mat for a reasonable price?
I am not an electrician so I am looking for the simplest solution!
Thanks

Nothing to stop you triggering a relay and use the appropriate normally open or normally closed contacts on it. To be honest you wouldn't want to run the full current through the pressure pad anyway as it no doubt will be insufficiently rated for that.

simplest solution,

recline the seat when the dog is under it, have someone watch to make sure but,
i expect the dog will yelp and run out quick time.
if you do it a couple of times it will be afraid of being under there and find somewhere else to hide.

Nothing to stop you triggering a relay and use the appropriate normally open or normally closed contacts on it. To be honest you wouldn't want to run the full current through the pressure pad anyway as it no doubt will be insufficiently rated for that.
Thanks James. Is there a simple tutorial online explaining how I do that? As I said, I'm not an electrician. I do know that the full current is too much to put through the pad, so this sounds like a good potential solution.

Does it operate at 240 volts, or is the motor something much lower? I would be reluctant to assist if it is the former, as it would be too much of a safety risk.