Discuss Commercial rewire in the Electrical Wiring, Theories and Regulations area at ElectriciansForums.net

Reaction score
Hi I am a domestic installer mostly install bathroom circuits showers and such but I have been asked to rewire Commercial storage unit there is a 3 phase consumer unit already in place with no m.c.b’s in it but my question is will I need to remove the main isolator and replace it with a R.C.D similar to a residential property or put RCBO’s instead of MCB’s as I am a bit rusty on the regs for commercial properties Thanks for any help

Unless you have a split load RCD board, you only option is for the installation of RCBOs on circuits that require them.

The regs are the same regardless of the installation they are being used for.

definitely NO to replacing the incomer with RCD. as dilb says, decide which circuits require RCD protection and use RCBOs for these. bear in mind the phrase " skilled or instructed persons".

Unless you have a split load RCD board, you only option is for the installation of RCBOs on circuits that require them.

The regs are the same regardless of the installation they are being used for.

Never seen a split load 3 phase db.

Come to think of it, never seen a 3 phase consumer unit :confused:

Hi I am a domestic installer mostly install bathroom circuits showers and such but I have been asked to rewire Commercial storage unit there is a 3 phase consumer unit already in place with no m.c.b’s in it but my question is will I need to remove the main isolator and replace it with a R.C.D similar to a residential property or put RCBO’s instead of MCB’s as I am a bit rusty on the regs for commercial properties Thanks for any help
There is more chance of winning the lottery every day for the rest of our lives than answering that, what earthing arrangements? what connected loads? answer that then we can help

Never seen a split load 3 phase db.

Come to think of it, never seen a 3 phase consumer unit :confused: