Discuss compex exam issues in the The Welcome Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

A

Alan dale

I am new to this. I live in Florida and recently took Compex 1-4 exam I passed the practical but failed Section 1& 2 on exam so have to retake in 8 days. I am experienced electrician, but the section, class, etc terminology is new. Does anyone have practice exams they can email me?

Welcome to the forum.
Note that this forum is UK based so there may be regulation differences, although I am not sure if compex is universal.

You probably need to just brush up on your terminology and the meanings for this terminology.
The first run can be considered a practice run to allow you to expand your understanding of the areas that need addressing.

I am afraid I have no further advice available, but just to wish you luck for the next time.

Compex is split into 4 units for gas and vapour atmospheres. Ex 1 to 4. Ex 1+2 are d,e,n type protection (there are other types). 1 being installation and 2 being inspection. Unit 3 + 4 are Intrinsically safe equipment and systems. Unit 3 being installation and 4 being inspection. Class I equipment is below ground (mines) Class II is 'usually' above ground. Do you use class, div, group (NEC 500) or class and zone (NEC 505) at the moment when working in US ?

Can we have a little thought lads as to why when you peruse the forum you don't see spam filled threads or links to sites that may contain malware or viruses etc?

Its because we actively check and vet any links posted, if your link is automatically blocked then this would suggest that it has already been put on the block list possibly for breaching forum rules for spam, unaceptable content etc or because the sites security software considers the link a risk.

If you have any questions about a link you are trying to get up then please ask otherwise PM the link details to the member concerned directly. :)