Discuss Converting residential home to flats - newbie in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

P

paulgranger

Hi All,

Any advice on my newbie question is appreciated. I'm looking to convert a disused residential home to 12 bedsit type rooms. Each will have an electric shower, electric oven/hob, small fridge plus the usual electrical appliances. There is also a communal area with washers and driers as well as communal corridors and areas with lighting, heating, electric access doors etc.

The building already is split into two halves each with a 3 phase supply, both from 1 meter. Looking in the meter cupboard it looks like 3 x 100 amps so a 300 amp supply?

I'm just in the development/budgeting phase of this project and trying to scope what i need. I have little knowledge around electrics and appreciate I'll need to get in some expert help but wanted to gather some info first. I'm aware than getting the supply to the property increased may well be quite costly and might make the project non-viable.

How do I work out how much electricity supply im likely to need for the building once converted. Do i go room by room and add up the likely amps in total for each room (allowing for the fact that not all appliances will be used at once). Would it be correct to look at this in amps?
Does the existing 3 phase supply make any real difference to this?
I'm assuming i'll need to speak to uk power networks for a quote to increase supply but how much would i tell them i'd need? Should I get a sparky in to go through it with me at this stage or is it something i can do a rough calculation for myself? Couldn't find the info i was looking for online.

Currently the plan is for one supply paid for by the landlord with the tenants paying all inclusive of bills in their rent. Consideration is being given to individually metering the rooms/flats.

If/when i do speak with uk power networks are there any tips on how to deal with them or any things to look out for.