Search the forum,

Discuss *Disconnecting a temporary Meter* in the Australia area at ElectriciansForums.net

K

kathleenbilly

Helllo to those looking in,

I doing a small site job which has a temporary meter fitted to get an idea of the electric the site is using it's very little not a big site (shop).

I need to remove this meter maybe in the morning.

Looking at it the line goes into a 40 amp MCB alongside all the other circuits( its a small shop) about 10 breakers in the DB , the neutral into the neutral bar and CPC into the earth bar.

Now i don't want to turn off the main power as the other circuits on the db are still being used, so my question is this can i turn off the 40 amp breaker, disconnect the line of the meter going into it, then the neutral and then CPC, ???

I have never done this before so i'm just checking as the line would be clearly dead because i've opened the breaker but the neutral bar with it's neutral connected to the bar can i just dis-connect that without any issues as i said never done one or worked live on a board so i'll ask first!! any replies appreciated got to do this tomorrow the way its looking...''

as far as i can understand from what you have wrote,
if the neutral is still connected to a live supply its clased as a live wire.
there will be potential between this and earth. can you disconnect the other end of the neutral b4 commencing work?

Yes that's my question if i ask the question in another way,

Can you disconnect on a fuse board a curcuit a lighting circuit for example,

So by not disconnect the board or turning the main switch off which isolates the DB and all circuits.

So working live basically can i turn off the breaker of the individual circuit i want disconnect the live, then the neutral then the earth, can this be done and is it safe to do so ???

It was a question i know the obvious better solution,

again i really believed it was a straight forward question,