Discuss Do I need a qualification? in the Electrical Wiring, Theories and Regulations area at ElectriciansForums.net

H

hpprint

Hello Everyone,

Here is the deal, I am a professional sign fitter and usually use an electrical contractor. However, my usual contractor is now retiring and i have been quoted nearly double what i was paying.

So here is my question... do i need qualifications to wire up outdoor lighting...strip lights, light boxes, goose neck lights etc...?

If so where can i get this done? Can i get a grant/free course?

Thanks Guys/Gals

Yeah just lash them in, this electrical nonsense is easy any idiot can do it!

Buy a roll of 1mm cable and some 45Amp MCBs and you will be able to wire loads of lights and they will never trip out.

I know this and do know what i am doing. I am a very high end business and offer premium service at premium rates. So therefore need to know legalities.
So you'll know all about things going wrong and insurers refusing to pay because of incompetent people installing things then.
If you're that high end and offer things at a premium rate then get another spark, there's boatloads on here. One of us will be near you and will be happy to quote on your requirements.

Hello all.
My first time on the sign fitters forum.
Im an electrician but my underpaid sign fitter is retiring and I now have to pay correct prices.
Is there a quick course so I can just fit signs. It cant be that hard. Its just ive a high end business but pay low end wages!!!!!!!!
Thanks
Folically challanged sparkie

So here is my question... do i need qualifications to wire up outdoor lighting...strip lights, light boxes, goose neck lights etc...?
The law say you need to be competent. To prove competency is the problem.

If so where can i get this done? Can i get a grant/free course?