Discuss First post!! Apprentice advice for domestic!! in the Australia area at ElectriciansForums.net

Reaction score
Hi all!! Just after some quick advice!! I am a 3rd year apprentice, have only done industrial/commercial work so far, have now been taken on by a firm carrying out house bashing. Im aware that i will need some different tools for this aspect including chisels!! Could you experienced guys just point out to me the various types of chisels and the benefits, uses etc for domestic work. Also any tips would be appreciated!!! Im fine from a wiring point of view its just the routing (gettin from A-B!!) Cheers people!!! :smiley2:

a 2" bolster chisel and a lump hammer, along with a bruised left hand. septic knees, fibreglass rash and emphesemia are essential items for house bashing.

Floorboard saw, various chisels (wood and masonry) , small brushes for cleaning out channels, various pry-bars, set square, a hammer??? I know it sounds daft but I moved to a factory electrician role a month ago and the blokes there don't even own a hammer! a 3.5mm socket rethread-er - very useful!

The place i was at was drying up with work and offered a new position at new firm it made sense Tony. They carry out all aspects but i have alot of domestic coming up. I appreciate theyre totally different hence the fact im asking for any advice. But if im to become a decent, competent spark am i not best of having experience in all aspects???

am i not best of having experience in all aspects

There is a cruel saying that you can teach a monkey to wire a house in 6 weeks
I bet you will go "ape" when you experience this different world, compared to industrial :crazy:
icon7.png

Cheers guys!! By sounds of it I have everything minus chisels!!! 3.5mm socket rethreader???? (excuse if im being dumb)
for rethreading the lugs in backboxes after the plasterer's filled them and they've gone rusty.