Discuss Garden Wiring in the Electrical Wiring, Theories and Regulations area at ElectriciansForums.net

S

skamuk

Hello, I am currently studying C&G 2365 L2 Electrical Installation at college and i'm doing really well so far..

I am going to install some sockets and lights in my mum's back garden but I need a little help.

At the moment the shed at the back of the house has SWA 2.5 cable spurring off an indoor socket and connecting to a socket and switched (standard ceiling rose) light within the shed.

I need to install 2 double sockets and 4 switched lighting features on a decking area...

I plan to run SWA 2.5 3 core to the decking area at the back of the garden, into a double socket, back out (again using SWA 2.5), and finishing into another double socket. Of course all sockets and switches are IP rated waterproof and I will be using correct glands when terminating.

I then plan to run outdoor rated flex 1.5 3 core from the first outdoor socket into 4 switches and from each of those switches into 4 different lighting features, in and around the decking. I have calculated that I will need around 20m of swa and another 20-25m of outdoor flex/hi-tuff, to give you a rough idea of the distance I will be running the cables..

Switch 1: will control 10 floor leds in the decking run by a 12v 20w driver.
Switch 2: a 150w halogen floodlight on the fence above the decking.
Switch 3: another 2 150w floodlights in a flower bed along the side of the garden.
Switch 4: not 100% decided yet but its between another 150w floodlight again on the fence above the decking or 2 led spotlights (unknown rating but can't be much)

The sockets will be running a 2000w max patio heater and occasionally a small stereo system, laptop charger, pump for inflating swimming pool etc. There is no grass so it won't be used for lawn mowers etc.

My main questions are:

1) Is the above setup correct