Discuss Invoice terms and conditions help needed please in the Business Related area at ElectriciansForums.net

Reaction score
I'm a new NICEIC Domestic installer and I'm currently revamping my invoices as I've had a few issues with customers paying late so I'd like to put some T&Cs on my invoices but I wasn't sure what the legislations are on this. I noticed that on a few templates I found online have something along the lines of "Payment is due within X days. Overdue accounts subject to a service charge of X% per day." What I'd like to know is what are reasonable values for X and are there any legislations on this. I was thinking of putting "Payment is due within 14 days. Overdue accounts subject to a service charge of 5% per day."

Also as a sole trader should I put my unique taxpayer reference somewhere on my invoice as I noticed someone mentioned on another thread that tax can be withheld by contractors (sorry I can find the thread I found this info on but it mention the CIS scheme which I'm not part of)

any other recommendations for my invoices would be greatly appreciated as the paperwork side of things is all new to me

thanx
david

You can put what you want on your T's and C's BUT the customer will pay when they want to.

Agreed^^^^.

Domestic customers are pretty good if you tell them how and when you want to be paid (i.e. staged payments or on completion).

Commercial & industrial clients are a different animal. They probably do their payment runs just once per month.

Not convinced that a late payment charge is the way to go!

Basically if you don't ask you don't get. I use

Thank you for your business, prompt payment within 14 days would be appreciated.

seems to work for my (domestic) customers. If there are any late payers then just chase with a phone call or statement, usually seems to work.

I use 'upon receipt of invoice' as my stated payment terms.