Discuss Looking for apprenticeship in the Newcastle area. in the Electrician Courses : Electrical Quals area at ElectriciansForums.net

N

Neil.

I am writing this letter in search of a suitable employer to support a college course or offering a relevant apprenticeship. I am 23 and looking to start a career as an electrician or in electrical engineering.
I have an extensive work history primarily in construction and most recently working one on one with electricians and engineers. I have some good hands on experience, helping re-wire houses, laying service cables and wiring in countless sockets and light fittings. I found this very interesting and see myself enjoying a successful career in this area. I am a hard working, reliable, honest and motivated young person with strengths in maths and cognitive thinking. I am well suited to construction type work enjoying a challenge and working in a variety of places. I have been working most recently with a company between Newcastle and Edinburgh renovating small residential properties and a large historical building, my duties here started with basic labouring and grew as I gained trust and experience. In the end I was working on my own to re-wire rooms, operating plant machinery and responsible for locking up sites at the end of the day.
I am keen to get started and have applied to all local colleges offering relevant courses. I have already secured a place at Tyne Met College for a ‘National Diploma in Electrical Engineering’ which I would be funding myself. This will be starting in early September one day a week for two years, at this point all going well I would like to progress onto an HNC and HND. Regardless of this I am also very interested in a NVQ work based style qualification with the right employer. I will be based in Newcastle with my fiancée and looking to settle locally on a long-term basis.