Discuss Newbie Question in the Australia area at ElectriciansForums.net

S

Shock Doctor

Hi all,

Im new to the site and trade so please forgive me if I miss something obvious. I have just been working with an electrician putting in a power shower ( I was doing the tiling as cant afford to get on a scheme at the moment ). The consumer unit was an old wylex fuse board with mcb add ons. The spark has run a 6mm cable from a spare way in the board to a rcd shower unit then 6mm up to the new shower. His work is very tidy but with my new found grasp of the regs 1) No sign of any test metre all day 2) No checking of Ze before starting 3) No testing circuit after installed 4) when I inquired if he had to certify he said " not going to bother if they realy want a cert I'll do them a minor works cert" Like I said I am new to this but my understanding is a new circuit back to the CU surely qualifies as a new installation as well as the fact the installation involves a special location. Am I just being a paranoid newbie? I would be grateful for your thoughts on this one.

Have a look and see if he has sign written his horse cos he is one cowboy and you are not paranoid infact you are quite correct.

Chris

Thanks alot I realise I have a very steep learning curve ahead as real world situations different from a classroom. Just miffed me a bit as Im saving up to pay for a scheme to work legally and by the book and every other so and so is cutting corners! Appreciate the replies thanks again.

Reply to Newbie Question in the Australia area at ElectriciansForums.net

Similar Threads

Hello Need to replace a distribution board in the next few weeks to allow for more circuits to be installed in January. Existing is a TT system...
Replies
Views
Hi everyone :) my first post here. Quick background I'm a newly qualified installer of somewhat advanced years whose just starting out in the...
Replies
Views