Discuss Outside light on plug top. in the Industrial Electricians' Talk area at ElectriciansForums.net

Reaction score
Hello,
I am considering installing an outside light on my house on the wall by the front door.
I was planning to use the outside enclosure that houses connector blocks that connects to a flex that runs in to the house and has plug top on the other end (2.5 flex and is existing (i installed some time ago as a temp supply for some Xmas lights and never took out)) and connect it to some 1.5 flex 5amo fuse in plug top and connect that flex to light.

Hope that makes sense.

My questions are:

1. I am an apprentice and there for not registered so would this install be notifiable? And would removing the connection box and taking the flex direct in to the house change this?

2. Do I need to install an RCD plug too for this as the fuse board is re-wire able and thus no RCD protection on the socket.

Thanks.

No it would be classed as portable equipment in very loose terms. What year apprentice are you?
Coming to the end of the 1st year but only ever done stuff inside and all work and notification stuff is done by the office (I think). We get given a job and do it.Why?Also: Does registering when qualified with napit or neciec mean you do not have to notify?Thanks.

Even if they helped as it is the company that is registered would them helping solve the issue of notification? I know how to do spurs and fit light and plugs ect but I do not want to do the work if it is not correctly signed off if it is notifiable.

Best option although I think it would be have to be notified(don't deal with domestic much so can someone confirm?) would be to extend the ring into an RCD switch fused spur rated at 3a or 5a depending on the size of the fitting. Then out of the spur to the light, in trunking and drilled out if it won't look a eye sore. It's worth asking at work though, they are there to help you at te end of the day.