Discuss Pricing up materials in the Australia area at ElectriciansForums.net

K

karlhill

I am going back to college next year to complete my C&G and then NVQ and would really like to go self employed doing a bit of everything.

I was wondering if you could give an example domestic installation you have done that I could use to price up materials & labour and also what suppliers you use.

I think domestic work would be my main income but I have a lot of experience as a theatre sound & light technician and would like to get into installing sound and light systems in pubs & clubs.

Many thanks in advance for your help.

Heh.....

I'm thinking of becoming an electrician, and I'd like one of you to give me a list of all your customers, how much you charge, where you buy your kit, how you do your installs, and......

Actually - I'm thinking of becoming an electrician, but it might be too hard - can one of you save me the bother by doing all the work and just giving me the money....?

Seriously, Mr OP - most of us had to figure out the hard way how to price work, and how to set pricing - I've written reams on here about how to figure out how much you *should* be charging - that would be a good place to start.

Also, if you really want to be self-employed, it sounds like a course (mostly free by your local business link) would be a good place to start.

It comes down to (a) knowing the job you're quoting for, and (b) pricing the job for those parts, your labour, and any mark up you choose to put on, to make a profit. There isn't a standard price for any rewire, as no two are really the same.

I'd also suggest that if you're going to be new to the game, start small - gain experience doing remedial work, small adds, and so on first. Just doing the exams won't make you an electrician.

Sorry if all that sounds harsh - but there is more to it than grabbing the nearest list off someone already doing it.

where's my like button gone? same place as half the forum functions here.