Discuss Replacing a BS3036 db to a new 17th Edition Dual RCD Consumer Unit in the Electrical Wiring, Theories and Regulations area at ElectriciansForums.net

S

stejones4321

Hi There,

Im new to this forum and apologise if i sound abit dumb but would really appreciate someones help. I am a nearly qualified electrician but lack experience. I wish to install a new consumer unit in my friends shop as its currently using an old bs3036 type that someone had fitted as a temporary measure previously. Is it a case of taking the old one off and replacing it or is there more to it.

The shop that my friend had taken over has only one lighting circuit in it. Everything else has been stripped out.

Would appreciate a little advice.

Many Thanks

Steve

Apologies about this being in the wrong section

I can see where this one could go. GASP! Beat you to it MJD mate.

A couple of things here. Yes, there's a little more to it than that AND if you're nearly qualified this really is something you should know.

Sits back and waits for the comments on this thread. . . . .

I completely agree its something i should know but i do lack the experience. Maybe i should stay back and get a fully qualified person on the job.

what would be ideal is to get a fully qualified spark in who is willing to let you assist. then you can see what testing needs doing, ask questions, learn.

If your not sure what to do you obviously not good enough to change it. I suggest you get someone who knows. You could kill your self.

Hi There,

Im new to this forum and apologise if i sound abit dumb but would really appreciate someones help. I am a nearly qualified electrician but lack experience. I wish to install a new consumer unit in my friends shop as its currently using an old bs3036 type that someone had fitted as a temporary measure previously. Is it a case of taking the old one off and replacing it or is there more to it.