Discuss Size Backbox to use in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

M

mojowaky

Hi everyone,

Im not a very experienced sparky.
Im looking to replace several 2 gang 13A double sockets through out a house.
They are all surface mounted plastic pattress boxes on the walls.
Im looking to chisel the walls and have metal backboxes inside the walls.
I have no experience with chiseling and inserting metal backboxes in anything but plasterboard.
Im not sure whether to pick 25mm or 35mm metal backboxes.
The walls I need to work on range from about 75mm to about 90mm in total depth and are all solid walls (no plasterboard), Im pretty sure almost all are brick wall, I know for sure some are as there is building work going on and some walls are exposed in the edges.
I would prefer to use 25mm backbox throughout so I got enough space to put the box in and drill deeper to put in the drill holes for the plastic wallplugs to hold the retaining screws to hold the backbox in.
Question is do you think 25mm would be enough for electrical sockets bearing in mind they would of course have the standard 2.5mm cable and its likely there would be 2-3 sets of cable maybe even 4 ? Do I think I could I get away with 25mm backboxes, at the moment as the current plastic surface mounted patresses are 35mm, as I dont like the idea of using 35mm boxes ?
Also the building regs only let you chisel in to 1/6 of the depth for channels (cant remember if that was horizonal or vertical), does that mean you cant chisel more than 1/6 of the depth for the backbox as well or that does not apply ?

Thanks

Mohamed

Welcome to the Forum Mohammed or As-Salāmu `Alaykum

Well mate the old rule of thumb is, engineering bricks 25mm is more than enough, soft breeze whatever is lieing around in the van.