Search the forum,

Discuss thermal constraint help?! in the Electrical Wiring, Theories and Regulations area at ElectriciansForums.net

W

willo1991

first post on here, use it quite a lot and have found it extremely helpful so thanks to everyone who does post and reply :) i'm studying at the moment and have come across a question that im not too sure how to finish, the question is as follows;

A 230 volt 14kW cooker installed in a house is to be supplied by a 15m run of pvc insulated and sheathed cable, clipped to a surface. the circuit is to be protected by a BS3036 30A fuse and the value of external impedance is 0.85 ohms. Calculate the minimum size cable that can be used for this circuit to comply with thermal constraints.

so i start with;

Ief = 230/1.01 = 227.722
T= 0.1
K=143
Therefore S= sqrt227.722 squared * 0.1 / 143 = 0.503

where do i go from here? very confused?

any help or guidance would be greatly appreciated! again first post on here so go easy on me lol.

where does the 1.01 come from? and k for T/E or bunched cables is 115, not 143.

f
A 230 volt 14kW cooker installed in a house is to be supplied by a 15m run of pvc insulated and sheathed cable, clipped to a surface. the circuit is to be protected by a BS3036 30A fuse and the value of external impedance is 0.85 ohms. Calculate the minimum size cable that can be used for this circuit to comply with thermal constraints.
If you are considering only the thermal situation then this could be either that the size of the cpc must be able to handle the fault current or that the csa of the supply cable that can take the design current.

You have calculated the minimum size for the cpc but you have used the wrong values.
You do not have enough information to use easier values so you have to run with minimum standards.
S = root (I￾￾²t) / k
Fault current at origin is Uo/Ze = 230/0.85 =270.85 A, from BS3036 graph this is about 0.22s as Tel says k is 115
S = root (I￾￾²t) / k = 1.1mm￾².